Advisory Board

The N8 PRP Advisory Board constitutes a key element in our oversight and governance structure as well as playing a pivotal role in our external engagement and maximising the impact of the research generated and knowledge exchange activities.

Purpose / role of the group 

The broad purpose of the Advisory Board is to act as a sounding board, and to advise on measures that ensure that the maximum national and international impact is achieved from the N8 Policing Research Partnership (N8 PRP) HEFCE funded Catalyst Grant project.

The advisory board aims / responsibilities are:

  1. To advise on general strategy for the project, in order for it to achieve its overall objectives; acting as a critical friend in relation to the overall shape, academic direction and relevance to policy and practice of the research and knowledge exchange programme.
  2. To encourage wider engagement by policing partners in the activities and opportunities for research co-production and knowledge exchange presented by the N8 PRP Catalyst grant.
  3. To support the project in its impact generating activities - offering advice on the development of the impact strategy; supporting the investment in engaging with key audiences and potential users of the research; offering pathway ys into user groups and relevant national and international stakeholders.
  4. To act as ambassadors on behalf of the N8 Policing Research Partnership, where possible and appropriate attending its key events and networking with key audiences.
  5. To advise the Director on any action to be taken on specific aspects of work programme and the work of the different activity strands.
  6. To attend the annual Advisory Group meetings. Where members cannot physically attend alternative facilities will be offered (e.g. tele- or videoconferencing, Skype). Members will also be invited to attend other key events and are encouraged to participate where appropriate. 
  7. To engage, where relevant and practicable, with specific activity strands linked to members work and interests, in a voluntary capacity.


The Advisory Board comprises senior representatives from the policy, practice and research communities both nationally and internationally with links to and expertise in policing.